“Heart healthy” before the Sweethearts

It’s been a while since I baked anything for the office. Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day and rather than resort to my cherry-almond fudge recipe like last year (mostly because I have no candied cherries), I whipped up a batch of chocolate-cherry “heart smart” cookies that I haven’t made since last year. (So named because of the dark-chocolate chunks, which are not so bad for your heart. I can’t comment as to the 3/4 cup of sugar).

They got a little too tan for my preference, and I had to sub a mixture of craisins and raisins for the dried cherries. While they are still tasty, I recommend sticking with the original recipe — and be sure to monitor your oven, especially if it runs hot and fast like mine (i.e. on gas). Semi-sweet chocolate morsels work just as well as broken chocolate chunks.

Last year's cherry-almond fudge

"Heart smart" cookies for 2012

 

Leave a Reply

