Nola, you know you want to geaux too

A far more feasible journey than last week’s exotic Istanbul is The Big Easy, aka New Orleans.

In a nutshell

Before you think I’m Wikipedia’ing this whole post, let me preface it by explaining why I know some random tidbits about this fair city. At work we manage different markets, and of the dozen or so that I’m in charge of, New Orleans is the one that most tempts me on a daily basis. The cuisine alone — everything from Cajun and Creole to Southern home cooking and seafood — is enough to make your mouth water, while its rich history and continuing traditions add a kick to the local flavor. Just Tuesday, the krewes (parade marchers and floats) took over the French Quarter, the Hurricanes and beads flew freely, and Bourbon Street became a party zone to compete with the best of Carnival locales.

The French Quarter is an iconic and popular tourist destination

Sites to see (and eat)

  • The French Quarter boasts (in)famous Bourbon Street as well as unique bars, restaurants, and even a Voodoo Museum.
  • Listed as the top attraction to see, The Southern Food & Beverage Museum along with the adjoining Museum of the American Cocktail showcases what New Orleans does best: cuisine!
  • The nearby Metairie Cemetery is a massive aboveground necropolis, and after being spoiled by the extravagant mini city of the Recoleta Cemetery in Buenos Aires, I’m curious to see this site, which seems more spread out.
  • The Garden District might not be a typical attraction, but I’ve read enough about the lovely (and luxe) houses in this National Landmark neighborhood to think it deserves a tour.

Books, movies, and more

At first I thought I could only think of one or two movies that I’ve seen that take place in The Crescent City, but as it turns out I know quite a few like: Double Jeopardy, Live and Let DieThe Curious Case of Benjamin ButtonRunaway Jury, and The Princess and the Frog.

Although I can’t think of any books that fit this category, many a Tennessee Williams play is set in the Crescent City.

Perhaps I’ll make it there this year and Laissez les bons temps rouler.

Leave a Reply

