A glossy take-me-away

This week I almost succeeded in posting five days in a row, but while work settle down somewhat my after-hours plans revved up with meeting a friend for happy hour to attending a girls’ night complete with red wine, hot-from-the-oven brownies à la mode (the mode in this case being surprisingly yummy hemp ice cream).

Already the upcoming weekend is looking jammed between cheering on the Tar Heels tonight to running a 5K and catching The Hunger Games Sunday. While I relish get-togethers and fun events on my days off, I’m also hoping to sneak in a little spring cleaning and reading —  namely working my way through the giant stack of newspapers and magazines that seems to have taken permanent residence on my couch.

 

On the subject of print publications, I’m considering resubscribing to Condé Nast Traveler or another wanderlust glossy. I’d had a subscription for three years, but ultimately cancelled because its focus on the “Gold List” of top resorts, spas, and cruises was not in line with my travel style (re: backpacks, hostels, shoestring budget). And while Budget Travel had plenty of

penny-saving tips and practical guides, their content and photos rarely tickled the travel bug, and now I worry that the content will be even more sparse since they have switched to bimonthly.

I’m also considering the CN’s main rival, Travel + Leisure as well as more alternative titles like National Geographic Traveler and Afar, which seem less luxe and more adventurous. The bottom line is that while I can’t travel as much as I would like to, it’s fun to kick back, read about new places, and add items to that bucket list. Back in college, my magazine writing class had editorial and art students work together to create one issue of a fictional magazine. Ours was called “WorldLife” and featured stories abroad for young travelers, so my soft spot for such glossies runs quite deep.

If you have any recommendations or opinions on getaway reads, please leave a note in the comments section. In the meantime, Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

